TWO more Somerset cricketers have been snapped up for The Hundred this summer, meaning that they will miss their county's defence of the Royal London One-Day Cup.

Already it had been confirmed that Tom Banton (Welsh Fire), Lewis Gregory (Trent Rockets), Craig Overton (Southern Brave), Roelof van der Merwe (London Spirit) and Max Waller (Southern Brave) would be taking part in the new 100-ball competition.

Now Tom Abell and Tom Lammonby have joined them, and so Somerset will be without them as they attempt to defend the One-Day Cup - having won the trophy at Lord's in 2019.

READ MORE: Somerset to lose players for one month as Hundred fixtures revealed

The tournaments are running at the same time - with the first edition of The Hundred to be played between July 21 and August 21 - which means that the One-Day Cup will be more of a development competition for up-and-coming talents to demonstrate what they can do.

Somerset club captain Abell was set to play for Manchester Originals last year, only for the city-based tournament to be postponed amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

He's been signed by Birmingham Phoenix for 2021, joining a squad that also features Moeen Ali, Kane Williamson, Chris Woakes and former Somerset player Adam Hose.

Lammonby, who enjoyed a superb breakthrough season in 2020, will be representing Manchester Originals this summer.

He will have the opportunity to learn from two of the world's best limited-overs batsmen in Jos Buttler and Nicholas Pooran, while Kagiso Rabada and Jamie Overton - who left Somerset for Surrey last year - are also in the squad.

Kieron Pollard, a T20 signing for Somerset in 2010 and 2011, has signed for Welsh Fire - but there was no place in the tournament for either Babar Azam or Josh Philippe.

That's despite Babar - who played for Somerset in 2019 and 2020 - being ranked as the world's number one T20 batsman as recently as last year, and ex-Taunton Cricket Club overseas player Philippe making his T20 debut for Australia against New Zealand this week, after helping Sydney Sixers secure back-to-back Big Bash League titles.

There are four Somerset players in the Welsh Fire women's squad, where they are to be joined by a trio of Australian internationals.

Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning and Beth Mooney are coming into a set-up that already contained Lauren Filer, Georgie Hennessy, Sophie Luff and Nat Wraith, who all represent Western Storm.

Mooney tops the current ICC women's T20I batting rankings, with Lanning in fifth spot, while Jonassen is fifth in the T20I bowling rankings.

Squads for The Hundred in 2021

Birmingham Phoenix (men) - Chris Woakes, Dom Sibley, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Kane Williamson, Tom Abell, Benny Howell, Tom Helm, Shaheen Afridi, Pat Brown, Adam Hose, Adam Zampa, Henry Brookes, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Chris Cooke, Miles Hammond.

Birmingham Phoenix (women) - Sophie Devine, Amy Jones, Ashleigh Gardner, Ria Fackrell, Eve Jones, Marie Kelly, Emily Arlott, Kirstie Gordon, Phoebe Franklin, Abtaha Maqsood, Thea Brookes, Gwen Davies, Isabelle Wong, Georgia Elwiss.

London Spirit (men) - Zak Crawley, Glenn Maxwell, Eoin Morgan, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Amir, Mark Wood, Joe Denly, Dan Lawrence, Mason Crane, Adam Rossington, Roelof van der Merwe, Jade Dernbach, Luis Reece, Ravi Bopara, Chris Wood.

London Spirit (women) - Heather Knight, Deandra Dottin, Naomi Dattani, Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Danielle Gibson, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon, Charlie Dean, Freya Davies, Hannah Jones, Sophie Munro, Tammy Beaumont.

Manchester Originals (men) - Jos Buttler, Joe Clarke, Phil Salt, Wayne Madsen, Matt Parkinson, Nicholas Pooran, Kagiso Rabada, Harry Gurney, Shadab Khan, Jamie Overton, Tom Lammonby, Steven Finn, Colin Ackermann, Richard Gleeson, Tom Hartley.

Manchester Originals (women) - Kate Cross, Danielle Collins, Mignon du Preez, Alice Dyson, Cordelia Griffith, Hannah Jones, Lizelle Lee, Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Ellie Threlkeld, Alex Hartley, Emma Lamb, Sophie Ecclestone.

Northern Superchargers (men) - Ben Stokes, Aaron Finch, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Chris Lynn, Adil Rashid, Adam Lyth, David Willey, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Brydon Carse, John Simpson, Olly Stone, Matthew Potts, Matthew Fisher, Harry Brook, Callum Parkinson.

Northern Superchargers (women) - Lauren Winfield-Hill, Katie Levick, Hollie Armitage, Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Beth Langston, Linsey Smith, Nicola Carey, Alice Davidson-Richards, Alyssa Healy.

Oval Invincibles (men) - Sam Curran, Rory Burns, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Sandeep Lamichhane, Reece Topley, Will Jacks, Laurie Evans, Nathan Sowter, Alex Blake, Saqib Mahmood, Colin Ingram, Brandon Glover, Jordan Clark.

Oval Invincibles (women) - Fran Wilson, Georgia Adams, Tash Farrant, Megan Belt, Eva Gray, Marizanne Kapp, Rhianna Southby, Sarah Bryce, Alice Capsey, Jo Gardner, Dane Van Niekerk, Rachael Haynes, Mady Villiers.

Southern Brave (men) - Jofra Archer, Andre Russell, Marcus Stoinis, James Vince, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Delray Rawlins, Alex Davies, George Garton, Ross Whiteley, Max Waller, Craig Overton, David Warner, Danny Briggs.

Southern Brave (women) - Anya Shrubsole, Stafanie Taylor, Danni Wyatt, Maia Bouchier, Freya Kemp, Tara Norris, Carla Rudd, Paige Scholfield, Lauren Bell, Sonia Odedra, Amelia Kerr, Fi Morris, Sophia Dunkley.

Trent Rockets (men) - Joe Root, Rashid Khan, D'arcy Short, Alex Hales, Lewis Gregory, Dawid Malan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Steven Mullaney, Tom Moores, Matthew Carter, Luke Wood, Luke Wright, Ben Cox, Timm Van Der Gugten, Samit Patel.

Trent Rockets (women) - Nat Sciver, Katherine Brunt, Elyse Villani, Kathryn Bryce, Abbey Freeborn, Nancy Herman, Lucy Higham, Sarah Glenn, Sophie Molineux, Annabel Sutherland.

Welsh Fire (men) - Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Jhye Richardson, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Jake Ball, Qais Ahmad, Liam Plunkett, David Payne, Ryan Higgins, Ian Cockbain, Josh Cobb, Matthew Critchley, David Lloyd.

Welsh Fire (women) - Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Katie George, Sophie Luff, Natasha Wraith, Amy Gordon, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Beth Mooney, Bryony Smith.