SOMERSET'S rising star Tom Banton has been named in a 14-man England squad for the three-match One-Day International series against Ireland, which begins on Thursday.

Banton's Somerset team-mate Lewis Gregory is one of three reserves for the series, which will be played behind closed doors, in a bio-secure environment at the Ageas Bowl, Southampton.

Wicketkeeper/batsman Banton, 21, made his ODI debut for England against South Africa in Cape Town, back in February of this year.

Following Thursday's match, the second and third ODIs against Ireland will take place on Saturday, August 1 and Tuesday, August 4.

England selector James Taylor commented: “We are developing excellent strength in depth in white-ball cricket.

"Even though a number of Test players are unavailable, there is great competition for places, as we have seen during the intra-squad matches and the England Lions warm-up match.

"There are a number of players who'll feel unlucky not to have made the final squad and that says a lot about how many players we currently have pushing hard for selection at the highest level.

"These ODIs against Ireland are an opportunity to continue the exciting evolution of the ODI side, while also looking towards the T20 World Cup in 2021.

"In this challenging season, everyone at England appreciates the hard work and dedication of the county coaches and support staff who have helped these players to get ready for competitive cricket.”

The series will see the launch of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, which is to determine qualification for the 2023 World Cup - the top seven teams automatically booking their spot at the event in India.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Joe Denly (Kent), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire).

Reserves: Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire).