TAUNTON will host matches in the Women's Hundred from 2020, it has been confirmed.

The Cooper Associates County Ground will host the Western Fire franchise alongside Bristol's Brightside County Ground, with Cardiff's Sophia Gardens to be used as the base for the men's team.

Taunton is one of 11 host venues for the women's competition and ensures elite women's cricket will stay in the region following the success of Western Storm, who yesterday won the final ever Kia Super League.

Beth Barrett-Wild, Head of the Women’s Competition – The Hundred, said: “We’re delighted to be able to take the Women’s Competition to a number of excellent venues around the country.

“The venues for the men’s and women’s competitions respectively are working together incredibly closely and that connection will help The Hundred inspire more people to attend, watch and play cricket.

“It’s particularly exciting that the Women’s Competition will be seen by fans across all 18 First-Class counties, this represents a huge opportunity to grow women’s cricket – while the double-headers at the men’s venues provide another chance to present the men’s and women’s teams on the same platform.

“Many of the venues for the Women’s Competition have an excellent track record in supporting and nurturing the women’s game and we look forward to that continuing across The Hundred.”

The Western Fire women's squad will be coached by Australia Women coach Matthew Mott.

September will also see the opening of player registration for The Hundred, in both the Men’s Competition and the Women’s Competition.

While selection in the Men’s Competition will be via a Player Draft on October 20 – the first ever of its kind in UK sport – the Women’s Competition will have a bespoke player selection process.

Players will be selected across a two-stage, open-market system, with a standardised player fee band structure.

During stage one of the player selection process (Sep 1-Sep 30), each team is obliged to sign two players from the current England Women’s central contract list.

Stage two of the player selection process (Oct 1-May 30) will then see each team sign their remaining 13 players from across three different player pools: the remaining England Women’s centrally contracted players, overseas players and domestic players.

Teams can sign a maximum of one further England women’s centrally contracted player during stage two and can sign a maximum of three overseas players.