AGE is but a number for Don Darby, who has retained the Tucker Salver title at Yeovil Golf Club... at 91 years old.

His impressive score of 62 stableford points maintained his tradition of winning the trophy every time he has played in it over the last decade.

The competition is the only one at Yeovil where players receive extra points for their age – 23 additional points in the case of Darby.


AMIDST sharp showers on Monday, 38 members of the Cricket St Thomas senior section entered a Canadian Greensomes competition on Monday.

This format usually produces some competitive scores, but the outright winners in this event – Neil Cochran and Terry Rutherford – won by a margin of in excess of five shots.

An exciting tussle ensued for second place with both teams matching each other with the same score.


1. Neil Cochran & Terry Rutherford - 62.12; 2. J Blackburn & I Frost - 67.87; 3. D Mugridge & R Stone - 67.87

Some foul weather on Wednesday promised to cancel the Seniors match team game at Axe Cliff.

However, the hosts deemed the course fit and the match went ahead.

The portends were good after the first two games were won by the Cricket St Thomas team.

Bob Barrow and Roger Stone won the first game with a hole to spare whereas Ian Griffith and Alan Chance had a dramatic win on the final hole.

The good fortune was not to last as the hosts claimed the following four games to claim a 4-2 victory.


Bob Barrow & Roger Stone won by 2 & 1; Ian Griffiths & Alan Chance won by 1 hole; Martin Bargery & Peter Spencer-Farr lost by 2 & 1; Barrie Singleton & Chris Gingell lost by 4 & 3; Roger Davies & Barrie Heath lost by 5 & 4; James Siabi & Terry Rutherford lost by 2 & 1

Forty-five members of the senior section entered a friendly three-man Irish waltz competition on Friday.

In this format it is vital to bolster the score when all team members are asked to register a score on the six prescribed holes.

Most teams fell short in this part of the game resulting in some poor scoring with only the winning team registering a better than par score.


1. G Brent; M Miles & P Matthews - 74 points; 2. B Frost; R Forster & P Spencer-Farr - 70 points 3. J Evans; M Hone & N Markby - 69 points