CRICKET St Thomas’ match team travelled to Weymouth to take on their Senior team.

Although the result was 5-1 in Weymouth’s favour, the games were closely contested with three in doubt until the final hole.

Frank Martin and Alan Davis were the only winners.

Results: Roger Stone and John Wandless lost by two holes; Barrie Heath and Bob Hollingworth lost 3 and 2; Frank Martin and Alan Davis won by one hole; Mike Hone and John McOmish lost 3 and 1; Richard Forster and Robin Flower lost 6 and 4; Rod Young and Bill Hilson lost by one hole.

Eighteen other Seniors played a three-man Bowmaker competition and, in a tight finish, Jonny Bloy’s team managed a win by a single point over Tony Stenhouse’s trio.

They, in turn, finished one better than Nobby Hodder’s team who finished in third place.

Results: 1 Jonny Bloys; Martin Leigh and Jerry Stephens 70 pts; 2 Tony Stenhouse; Alan Teasdale and Richard Hall 69; 3 Nobby Hodder; Alan Chance and Bryan Frost 68.

On Thursday, the Seniors match team travelled to Long Sutton where again they suffered another defeat by the same margin of 5-1.

Once again, luck was not with them as four games were decided on the final hole, and again in the favour of the home side.

The Seniors combined with the Ladies Section on Friday to compete in the annual “Rolling Pin” trophy.

Twelve mixed pairs entered the competition in the format of a greensome.

Isobel Wescott-Pitt and partner Mike King set the pace and returned a score of 38 points which remained the leading score until Linda McDonald and partner returned a score of 40 to take first prize.

Result: 1 Linda McDonald and John Pearce 40 pts; 2 Isobel Wescott-Pitt and Mike King 38; 3 Kim Clarke and Bill Hilson 36.

Meanwhile, the rest of the Seniors played a three man Hassle whereby only one shot separated the first three teams.

A birdie on the final hole by Maurice Arnold’s team saw them scrape home by a margin of 0.16 of a shot.

Result: 1 Maurice Arnold; Bim Morfitt and Bryan Frost 63.34; 2 Sid Crisp; Clive Fisk and Brian Marsh 63.50; 3 Bob Barrow; Chris Basterfield and Richard Hill 64.34.