Sir Elton John is going to release a new album next month called The Lockdown Sessions.

The album will give fans 16 songs which will feature collaborations with musicians including Dua Lipa, Gorillaz, Lil Nas X, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Stevie Wonder and Stevie Nicks.

Chard & Ilminster News: Dua Lipa. (PA)Dua Lipa. (PA)

Over the last 18 months, Sir Elton recorded the tracks remotely with fellow artists.

Also featuring on the album will be Brandi Carlile, Charlie Puth, Eddie Vedder, Rina Sawayama, SG Lewis, Surfaces, Years & Years and Young Thug.

Chard & Ilminster News: Sir Elton John. (PA)Sir Elton John. (PA)

Sir Elton said: “The last thing I expected to do during lockdown was make an album. But, as the pandemic went on, one-off projects kept cropping up.

“Some of the recording sessions had to be done remotely, via Zoom, which I’d obviously never done before.

“Some of the sessions were recorded under very stringent safety regulations: working with another artist, but separated by glass screens.

“But all the tracks I worked on were really interesting and diverse, stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory.

“And I realised there was something weirdly familiar about working like this. At the start of my career, in the late 60s, I worked as a session musician.

“Working with different artists during lockdown reminded me of that. I’d come full circle: I was a session musician again. And it was still a blast.”

Of the 16 tracks on the album, 10 are new songs that see Sir Elton “collaborating with an unparalleled range of artists only he could draw together”, according to a statement.

The Lockdown Sessions will be released on October 22.