ALTHOUGH district and county council elections are not taking place this year, residents will still be able to have their say in the town and parish council elections.

The district and county council elections have been postponed until May 2022 due to the proposals to change the structure of local government in the county.

In Chard, there will be a by-election after businessman Les Gilbert resigned from his position last January (2020).

The election for the Holyrood ward seat was due to take place at the end of March last year, but was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

In Chard the candidates you can vote for are:

  • Claire Ann Brown, Liberal Democrat
  • Timothy Michael Eggins, Green Party
  • Connor Anthony Payne, Conservative Party

There will also be town and parish councils taking place across South Somerset.

Crewkerne Town Council candidates are as follows:

  • Steve Ashton, Conservative Party
  • Teresa Anne Bond, Conservative Party
  • Judith Morris, Liberal Democrats
  • Alice Samuel, Liberal Democrats
  • Paul Stuffins

Kingsbury Episcopi parish council nominations are as follows:

  • Mac Harris
  • Simon Jones

South Petherton parish council candidates are as follows:

  • Stephen Barry Carp, Conservative Party
  • Kara Frances Story

There is also an election taking place for Wincanton Town Council.

Somerton Town Council was un-contested and so candidates have already been chosen, and there are no nominations submitted for the Haselbury Plucknett election.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday, May 6.

Voters have three options for casting their ballot – in person at the polling station, by post or by proxy.

For any queries email

Or to see a full list of elections taking place visit