IT was a night bathed in dazzling bright blue for Conservatives in Somerset as the General Election results rolled in.

Despite having to wait until the early hours of Friday 13th, there were no horrors in store for the Tories, as all of the Conservative candidates in the county romped home, bar a Liberal Democrat hold in Bath, in what was a big night for the party across the country.

It was a long night in Yeovil with delays and recounts leading to the result being declared nearly four after the orginial 1.30am estimate.

The Conservative's Yeovil candidate, Marcus Fysh, was first elected in 2015 turning the seat blue for the first time since John Peyton stepped aside for the 1983 election.

Mr Peyton had won the previous nine elections in the Yeovil constituency stretching back to 1951.

Mr Fysh is some way off that record, but has now increased his majority in 2017 and again last night.

He also reached a vote share 58%, the highest since Unionist MP Aubrey Herbert achieved 61.8% in 1922.

However, Fysh does boast the biggest margin of victory ever seen in South Somerset.

After the win, he said: "Thanks to everyone who took part in the Yeovil constituency election and especially those who voted for and helped me.

"A majority of 16,181 with 58% vote share is humbling - a constituency record - and I will continue to do my very best to improve our area and our country for everybody."

Chard & Ilminster News:

Acting returning officer Alex Parmley, Marcus Fysh (Con), Diane Wood (Green), Tony Capozzoli (Ind), Mick Clark (Lib Dem), Terry Ledlie (Lab) and Thomas Fox (Constitution and Reform Party)

Marcus Fysh finished with 34,588 votes, while Liberal Democrat Mick Clark came away with 18,407 votes.

This was good for 31.1% of the vote, and an improvement of 1.4% on the previous election in 2017.

Afterwards, Mr Clark said: "Thank you all so much for your votes and support over the election period, sadly it wasn't to be this time.

"The reality is still that our rural economy is at risk and we have to keep working hard to protect the future of our constituency and safeguarding the lives and futures of our communities

"In the meantime, I will keep on being available for local people, working hard on casework and continuing to pick up the pieces of those who have been let down by the MP.

"We must keep working together to make sure that the Yeovil Constituency has a brighter future.

"Thank you all so much for the incredible effort that you have made over the last few months."

READ MORE: COMMENT: 'It was everything the Conservatives could have dreamed of'

After retaining her seat in the county town, Rebecca Pow said: “I’m going to throw myself into representing Taunton Deane.

”This election was about Brexit and democracy, but it’s also about getting stuff done for us in Taunton Deane.”

She later tweeted to thank her supporters, saying: "A heartfelt thank you to every single person who supported me in this election.

"So proud to be returned as our MP for Taunton Deane with an increased vote share.

"This ... success signals a bright, new future for the nation."

Chard & Ilminster News:


Here are the results from Somerset...

Taunton Deane
Rebecca Pow (Conservative): 34,164
Gideon Amos (Lib Dem): 22,464
Liam Canham (Labour): 4,715
John Hunt (Independent): 2,390

Bridgwater & West Somerset
Ian Liddell Grainger (Conservative): 35,827
Oliver Thornton (Labour): 11,388
Bill Revans (Lib Dem): 7,805
Mickie Ritchie (Green): 1,877
Fares Moussa (Liberal Party): 755

James Heappey (Conservative): 33,336
Tessa Munt (Lib Dem): 23,345
Kama McKenzie (Labour): 4,304
Dave Dobbs (Independent): 373
Susie Quatermass (The Motherworld Party): 270

Marcus Fysh (Conservative): 34,588
Mick Clarke (Lib Dem): 18,407
Terry Ledlie (Labour): 3,761
Diane Wood (Green): 1,629
Tony Capozzoli (Independent): 689
Thomas Fox (C&RP): 186

Wera Hobhouse (Lib Dem): 28,419
Annabel Tall (Conservative): 16,097
Mike Davies (Labour): 6,639
Jimi Ogunnusi (The Brexit Party): 642
Bill Blockhead (Independent): 341

Somerset North
Liam Fox (Conservative): 32,801
Hannah Young (Labour): 15,265
Ashley Cartman (Lib Dem): 11,051
Phil Neve (Green): 2,938

Somerset North East
Jacob Rees-Mogg (Conservative): 28,360
Mark Huband (Labour): 13,631
Nick Coates (Lib Dem): 12,422
Fay Whitfield (Green): 1,423
Shaun Hughes (Independent): 472

Weston super Mare
John Penrose (Conservative): 31,983
Tim Taylor (Labour): 14,862
Patrick Keating (Lib Dem): 6,935
Suneil Basu (Green): 1,834

Somerton and Frome
David Warburton (Conservative): 36,230
Adam Boyden (Liberal Democrat): 17,017
Sean Dromgoole (Labour): 8,354
Andrea Dexter (Green): 3,295