SIX candidates are set to battle it out for your vote in South Somerset.

The general election is due to be held on December 12, in less than four weeks time.

There are perhaps two unexpected candidates - Tony Capozzoli (Independent) and Tom Fox (The Constitution and Reform Party).

Mr Capozzoli is a South Somerset district councillor who represents the Northstone, Ivelchester & St Michael's ward.

He was first elected to SSDC in 1987, serving until 1991, and then has been a councillor from 1995 until the present day.

Mr Fox lives in Ilminster, and is the leader, nominating officer and treasurer for The Constitution and Reform Party.

For the Conservative Party, the candidate will be Marcus Fysh.

He received 32,369 votes at the 2017 general election, good for 54.5 per cent of the vote.

Fysh has represented Yeovil since the 2015 election.

Before Marcus Fysh, the Liberal Democrats represented the Yeovil consistency for 32 years, through MPs David Laws and the late Lord Paddy Ashdown.

This year, the Lib Dems will be represented by Mick Clark, who is hoping to improve on the 29.7 per cent of the vote they received last time.

At the 2017 general election, Labour increased its vote in Yeovil by 5.4 per cent.

They received 7,418 votes (12.5 per cent) and will be represented by Terry Ledlie at the ballot next month.

He already represents the Yeovil South ward on Yeovil Town Council.

The final candidate is Diane Wood, who will be representing the Green Party.

The highest number of votes previously received by the Green Party in Yeovil and South Somerset is 2,191, but with climate change and other green issues increasing in the spotlight, Diane is hoping to top that.


Tony Capozzoli – Independent

Mick Clark – Liberal Democrats

Tom Fox – The Constitution and Reform Party

Marcus John Hudson Fysh – The Conservative Party

Terry Ledlie – Labour Party

Diane Catherine Wood – Green Party