IT was a world record-breaking spectacle as Britain’s Disabled Strongman competition returned to Chard.

This is the second year in a row the national championship has taken place in the town, with the event’s founder claiming that 2019 even topped last year’s sell out success.

This is the fifth year of the British Disabled Strongman after it was set up in 2015 by Chard resident Gary Clarke.

Gary has also taken place every year, including 2019, and the judging was left to four-time World’s Strongest Man Magnus Magnusson, and World Disabled Strongman Arnar Mar Jonsson.

“It even topped last year to be honest,” said Gary.

“The number of people was in the hundreds. We couldn’t get any more people in.

“There were about 100 people to start with that had bought tickets before, and then it just filled up.

“Thank you to Les Wiltshire, the master of ceremonies, Magnus and Arnar.”

While the event has received strong support from the News in the past, this year saw Gary’s event gain coverage from BBC, ITV and Channel 4 as well.

Gary added: “This year we had even more media coverage.

“I am just hoping to make it even better again next year. It can only get better from here.

“Thank you to the sponsors again for all their support. It was phenomenal.

“It looked so professional this year. We even had the live feed by Warner Vision, and we thank Jonathan Warner for that.

“We thank all the local businesses. It really was a Chard event and I was very proud of everyone involved.”

There were more than 20 people taking part, including men and women.

The disciplines included a sled pull, and circus dumbbell press, a deadlift, crucible hold and the famous atlas stones.

It was in the final discipline that the world record was set.

Michael Bishop completed a record atlas stone lift of 170kg in Chard’s Guildhall.

Darren Greenfield finished first in seated class 1 men’s, while Tony Butcher took home men’s seated class 2.

The seated women’s class went to Alfie Wright won the seated women’s class. Jo Dunnett was first place in the standing women’s, while Mark Maskell won standing men’s.