A TOTAL of 36 Seniors formed 12 teams of three in the Texas Scramble at Windwhistle.

The dry ground assisted the run of the ball and some excellent scores were recorded.

Nick George’s team was leading in the clubhouse with a ten under par 60 before two further teams returned with scores in the 50s.

Result: 1 Mike King, Malcolm Roy & Alan Dowley 57.00; 2 Bim Morfitt, Bill Hilson & John Wallace 58.33; 3 Nick George, Des Denning & Mike Leigh 60.00.

Meanwhile, the match team were entertaining the Taunton & Pickeridge seniors.

Despite a valiant effort by the team with four games being decided on the 17th green, the result went in favour of the visitors 5-1.

Results: Alan Davis & Barry Singleton lost to Potter & James by 3 & 2; Trevor Dobson & Mike Dawson lost to Farrell & Davinge by 2 & 1; Barrie Heath & Mike Hone beat Stokes & Ellingford by 2 & 1; Roger Stone & Keith Potter lost to Cooper & Kelly by 3 & 1; Alan Chance & Nobby Hodder lost to Ferris & Cook by 2 holes; Stuart Pope & Keith Harper lost to Thomas & Roach by 4 & 3.

The July qualifing Stableford competition last Wednesday attracted 40 members.

The dry conditions favoured the high handicap players due to the roll of the ball and greens not being receptive. Consequently the Division 2 players outscored their Division 1 counterparts.

Tony Stenhouse won Division 2 for the second month running with a fine 41 points, beating his closest rival by three points.

In Division 1, nobody came anywhere near a par score with Des Denning taking the honours with a two over par 34.

Results: Division 1 – 1 Des Denning (34pts), 2 Barrie Heath (33pts), 3 Mike Burt (33pts). Division 2 – 1 Tony Stenhouse (41pts), 2 Bill Hilson (38pts), 3 Brian Marsh (36pts).

The seniors finished their week on Friday in the rain when 36 players formed a three man competition which took the format of a ‘waltz’ with one player scoring on the first hole, two on the second and all three on the third etc.

The downpour persuaded several teams to abandon the course at various stages.

But persistance paid off for teams led by Bob White and John Pearce as they came in first and second.

Result: 1 Bob White, Mike Burt & Bert Robinson 69ts; 2 John Pearce, Keith Potter & Brian Hodder 64pts.