THERE will be some new faces in the Perry Street and district league next season, it was revealed at the league's AGM.

Following reports from the officers, the committee was elected, with Jim Jowett (Chairman), Bob Brunt (Secretary), Sue Drayton (Treasurer), Ruth Brunt (Registrations Secretary) and Mark Brunt Fixtures Secretary) all being returned unopposed to serve for another year.

As there were no other names put forward, the five standing divisional representatives were also elected en bloc, although this now means that due to recent promotions, two of the five divisions no longer have a representative to speak on their behalf.

With formalities out of the way, an hour was spent on voting on proposed rule changes. Many of these involved the re-wording of the rule to make them clearer.

Of those that will affect clubs financially, was an increase in player transfers from £15 to £20.

If a club fails to notify the league and opposition of a cancellation at least two hours prior to kick off, that club will be fined £20 and have three points deducted.

Referees fees are to be increased from £20 to £22. In the past, if clubs have paid more than £35 for a referee including travelling expenses, they have been able to claim the excess back from the league. This figure is now increased to £37.

Premier Division sides Lyme Regis and Ilminster Town Reserves have withdrawn and applied to enter the Devon & Exeter League for next season. However, the number has been increased by one following the election of three new teams.

Despite struggling to field a team towards the end of last season, Drimpton have entered a reserve side and Merriott Rovers have reformed after the assurance that their new facilities will be ready by the end of August.

Chard United will be fielding a third team to play home matches at Forton (possibly to be named All Stars). All clubs have asked that these teams be placed in the lowest division.

The chairman stated that as it was not yet known if the two clubs had been accepted by the Devon & Exeter League, the constitution of the divisions for next season could not yet be made.

This would be done at a management meeting and brought back for the clubs to ratify at a later date.

Once again, the proposal for the use of rolling substitutes was unanimously overruled.

The new season will start on Saturday, August 30 and run to the second Saturday in May. It was decided that clubs would be given midweek fixtures for the first two weeks to counteract the need for so many matches in the closing weeks.

The cup for the top goal scorer went to Crewkerne Town’s Jamie Spurdle who netted 36 times.

Other players who scored more than 20 goals – 31 Dan Collins (Perry Street), Joe Bond (Lyme Regis); 30 Kieran Adams (Merriott Dynamos); 29 Jody Bovey (South Petherton); 27 Pete Peacock (Lyme Regis); 25 Igor Costa (Luso-Chard), Nigel Jeffreys (Kingsbury), Gethyn Jenkins (Barrington); 22 Kris Hastings (Shepton Beauchamp); 21 Liam Riste (Perry Street), Liam Male (Thorncombe), Luke Monk (Kingsbury).