RUGBY: Wagstaff named Player of the Year at Chard

RUGBY: Wagstaff named Player of the Year at Chard

RUGBY: Wagstaff named Player of the Year at Chard

First published in Sport

CHARD’S clubhouse was packed for the end of season dinner and awards evening when the main speakers were former Somerset RFU president John Williams and Director of rugby Steve Broome.

John Williams gave an amusing speech and highlighted how far the Chard club had come in the last four years with some statistics as to how high up the club were now in the rugby pyramid.

Director of rugby Steve Broome then took the stage for a review of the season which took the form of a good natured character assassination of the players – from which no one escaped!

Following the speeches and votes of thanks to Helen, Richard and Lani behind the scenes the seasons awards were made.

Awards: 1st XV – Player of the year, Jim Wagstaff; Most improved Player, Luke Aplin; Highest try scorer, Simon Jenkins; Highest points scorer, Chris Doak; Players Player of the year, Alan Henley; Coaches Player of the year, Nick Hyslop.

2nd XV – Player of the year, Billy Biss; Most improved Player, Billy Brooks; Highest points scorer, Sam Mouland; Players player of the year, Harry Miller.

3rd XV – Player of the year, Stuart Gold; Players Player of the Year, Mike Summers; Clubman of the year, Paul Gammage.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree